top of page
  • Ryan Karas, QLD

My experience with Calisthenics Certifications

Yo,

Im Ryan, a personal trainer and calisthenics coach from Brisbane. A year ago, I was stuck in my training and with my clients progress as well.

I was looking to up-skill so I could make some progress for myself and my clients. I reached out to Steve, who at the time was also known as @iambarstarzz with over 60k followers.

To my suprise, he responded to me, as previously, no other calisthenics public figure had bothered to reply. He ran a course called calisthenics certifications, I wanted to do a calisthenics specific course and there literally was nothing else out there within my budget.

I was originally looking at a level 2 online course, at it included level 1, was affordable and covered everything I wanted to teach, so I enquired with Steve.

After we got chatting about the course and content covered, Steve actually offered me his “master-trainer” course, which would later enable me to help him run level 2 workshops and run level 1 workshops myself.

I was literally blown away by this as I didn’t feel I was any where near good enough at the time, however Steve cheekily replied “don’t worry, I got you G” a phrase he repeats nearly weekly to me.

It was a big leap of faith and commitment putting my trust into someone who I had never met and lived on the opposite side of the country bit I did it and have not looked back a day.

Since completing the course, my training and results have exploded. I was stuck at a tuck-planche for years, within 6 months held a straddle. I was stuck at 5 muscle ups, now over 15 and I had never even seen freestyle, this weekend just gone I landed a

swing 360 and this weekend coming I will be performing in my 4th fitness show along side the best.

My clients, are all progressing faster than ever and some of them are actually over-taking me, which I am over the moon about as It gives me great confidence in my coaching, which is my passion. During the last fitness show, Arnolds spots festival in Melbourne, I had one of my clients Madi travel and perform and compete with me. Madi won 3 medals, 1 silver and 2 bronze. This was probably the highlight of my coaching career.

Completing Calisthenics Certifications master-trainer course opened so many doors for me, I met the team at Bodyweight Brisbane where I now coach full time, and are preparing the team to perform and compete in Brisbane. If you are a coach, personal trainer or just an enthusiast, even a complete beginner, if you are not always striving to up-skill, you are doing yourself and or clients a dis-service.

We have the best and most knowledgable & experienced team of coaches and amazing humans and are always willing to add to the fam, the tide rises all ships after all.

Get amongst it fam and send-it!

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page